[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[rdiff-backup-users] Remove latest backup?

From: Laurent De Buyst
Subject: [rdiff-backup-users] Remove latest backup?
Date: Mon, 29 Jul 2013 11:54:00 +0200


We're using rdiff-backup as part of a slightly complex automated backup solution involving LVM snapshots and rsync.

Very infrequently, something goes wrong in the preparation phase, like it did last night, and the result is that rdiff-backup is run with a completely empty source folder, wiping out about 80 gigs of data.

Now, the data is not lost or anything but, as far as I know, if my backup runs okay tonight, I'm going to end up with 160 gigs of space used by rdiff-backup: the old history up to the point where the folder got deleted, one history entry where all the folder contents are gone, and then the start of a new history.

In other words, we seem to have only two options: keep all the histories and doubling (or worse should it happen again) our storage needs, or discarding the history up to the point of failure.

Of course, we'll take precautions to make sure it won't happen again, but either way, the question I'd like answered that would solve everything:

Is it at all possible to undo the most recent rdiff-backup run?

Laurent De Buyst
ICT - System Administrator

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]