[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[rdiff-backup-users] Re: Re: Re: What happens if you add a --exclude to

From: Chris G
Subject: [rdiff-backup-users] Re: Re: Re: What happens if you add a --exclude to an existing rdiff-backup?
Date: Sat, 8 Jan 2011 11:58:10 +0000
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.20 (2009-06-14)

On Sat, Jan 08, 2011 at 12:09:07PM +0100, D. Kriesel wrote:
> > Oops, I meant to change that, I haven't added an exclude to the
> > rdiff-backup command.  What I have is an rsync across to the backup
> > machine and then the rdiff-backup runs there.  I though I had a --exclude
> > in the rdiff-backup run but it's actually in the rsync.  I only noticed
> > this when I started composing the E-Mail and, as I said, forgot to
> > change the subject.
> If you use rsync with exclusions AFTER rdiff-backup, what you get are
> inconsistencies in the final rdiff repository and therefore pain in the ass
> when verifying it.
> If you first rsync and then rdiff-backup, you should be fine whatsoever.
> Long story short: Let only rdiff-backup perform operations whithin the
> rdiff-backup repository. If you rsync the repository to some place excluding
> parts of it, it will be like you deleted files out of it.

No, you've misunderstood (I think).

I run a daily rsync from machineA/dirx to machineB/dirx.  Then I run
rdiff-backup on machineB from dirx to dirxbackup.

So from rdiff-backup's point of view (if rsync is set up so that dirx on
machineB is a genuine *mirror* of dirx on machineA) it just looks as if
the files in question have been deleted by the user (or whatever).

I'm not using rsync to copy the rdiff-backup archive.

Chris Green

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]