[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: after deleting a direcory: how to get rid of the message "New direct
Re: after deleting a direcory: how to get rid of the message "New directory `dir' -- ignored"
Tue, 29 Jun 2004 10:54:08 +0200
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1
mmmh, how do i edit the Entries file?
Any ASCII editor will do the job.
Is it possible that the rules/images directory was not originally
checked out but it exists both on local copy as non-CVS directory and on
repository ? In such case CVS client does not want to overwrite the
existing local directory with the check-out'd one. You should rename
local directory, check out the CVS one onto the place of previous one
and synhronize the entries afterwards - take care you do not delete CVS
e.g i get the msg:
>>cvs server: New directory `rules/images' -- ignored<<
but in the local rules/CVS/Entries is no entry about images at all.
what do i have to put into the Entries file?
well i deleted local dirs! but updateting did not purge the empty dirs...
and checkout would overwrite other changes, wouldn't it?
Not really. Checkout would fail if you have the local file or directory
at the same place and of the same name as on the repository. If you have
made the changes in some files of the local copy, the CVS client would
try to merge the changes and report the eventual conflicts. This would
be for sure when cvs update, yet I am not sure if the local files would
be overwritten at repeated cvs checkout. See manual for this or try -
just copy/duplicate or checkout the directory in question on some other
place and play with it. Unless you change the repository, the other
local copy will be safe.