bug-cvs
[Top][All Lists]
Advanced

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: After removing and (re)adding file is deleted without warning


From: andyreifREMOVE_IT
Subject: Re: After removing and (re)adding file is deleted without warning
Date: Thu, 6 Nov 2003 18:30:02 +0100
User-agent: KMail/1.5.4

On Wednesday 05 November 2003 16:52, address@hidden wrote:
> It's actually a feature request, since those who know this issue won't run
> into troubles.
>
> How to reproduce:
> Create file.txt with a text editor.
> cvs add file.txt
> cvs commit
> mv file.txt newfile.txt
> cvs remove -f file.txt
> Now you decide that the renaming is superfluous and want to undo the
> changes: rm newfile.txt
> Resave file.txt from the text editor.
> cvs add file.txt
> cvs add: file.txt should be removed and is still there (or is back again)
>  -> (adding is not done ( this should be stated more clearly! ), and this
> might be forgotten by the user) Making _some changes_ to file.txt.
> cvs commit -m "" -> file will be removed and _some changes_ will be lost
> without warning, although from user's point of view this shouldn't be done.
>
> How to solve: check the date of last change for repository and local
> versions (like this is done for commit) and only if it "should't be
> committed" (i.e. there are no changes after the most recent update/commit)
> the file may be deleted without warnings. Otherwise (there are _some
> changes_): the user should be advised what to do, i.e. moving the modified
> files to a temporary directory and (re)adding them later, or perhaps this
> could be done by cvs some day?

IMHO it would be better to ignore the cvs remove command if it is followed by 
an add command on the same file.
I do not think this would cause problems, since it is only a local copy issue, 
and it is something that user supposes to happen.

If the user had performed cvs remove and then has made some changes to a file, 
he/she should be warned about this (perhaps with a possibility to abort, like 
the one when you try to commit and have not typed anything into editor), and 
if he/she still decides to proceed, this file should at least be backuped, 
e.g. with the .# prefix (as this is done for files that are going to be 
merged). In this case the changes would not be lost as it happens currently.

Any comments?




reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]